Latest News & Updates

British Columbia’s first Fracture Liaison Service (FLS) at Peace Arch Hospital in White Rock

The Peace Arch FLS is a 3i FLS model delivering appropriate osteoporosis care to the fragility fracture patients seen within the hospital’s orthopaedic outpatient clinics. Within the first year, the FLS had already shown huge improvements in patient care: the rate of osteoporosis treatment and /or referral to an osteoporosis specialist for specific complex indications in high risk patients went from 22% pre-FLS to 76% post FLS, a truly remarkable accomplishment in such a short time span and could not have been achieved without the committed support of the local orthopedic surgeons.

Having demonstrated the FLS’s immense value for fragility fracture patients, it became imperative to identify a sustainable source of funding. Working together for this common goal, the BC Ministry of Health Nurse Practitioner Program, Fraser Health Authority, White Rock/South Surrey Division of Family Practice and the Peace Arch Hospital administration provided for the FLS’s sustainability. The FLS is now a permanent and integral service at Peace Arch Hospital.

Congratulations to Dr. Singh and her FLS team for their on-going efforts and success! Osteoporosis Canada is grateful to the Peace Arch Hospital Foundation who had the foresight to see the immense value of the proposed FLS model. And kudos to the healthcare administrators for recognizing and supporting such an effective program!

Click here to read more

IOF President’s Award Honours Global Osteoporosis Experts and Advocates

The International Osteoporosis Foundation (IOF) has presented awards to individual members in recognition of their dedication to the work of IOF and commitment to advancing education and awareness in their regions. Seven leading osteoporosis experts and advocates have received the 2017 International Osteoporosis Foundation (IOF) President's Award in recognition of their contributions to IOF and their commitment to advancing education and awareness in the field within their regions. The presentations took place on March 24, 2017 at a special ceremony during the World Congress on Osteoporosis, Osteoarthritis and Musculoskeletal Diseases, held in Florence, Italy from March 23-26, 2017.

Congratulations to Dr. David Kendler for his commitment to advancing education and awareness in North America.

David is a Professor of Medicine (Endocrinology), University of British Columbia Faculty of Medicine; Director of Osteoporosis Centre of British Columbia and Prohealth Clinical Research; and is an active Member of the Scientific Advisory Council of Osteoporosis Canada and the IOF Committee of Scientific Advisors.

Well done David!

SAC Member Honoured with the Dr Paul D. Miller ISCD Service Award

Each year at the ISCD’s (International Society for Clinical Densitometry) Annual meeting, ISCD members are recognized for their service to the ISCD and to the field of densitometry. The Dr. Paul D. Miller ISCD Service Award is presented annually to an ISCD member for distinguished service and dedication to the ISCD. Dr. David Hanley from the University of Calgary and member of Osteoporosis Canada’s Scientific Advisory Committee was honoured with this award on April 20, 2017 at the ISCD annual meeting in Orlando, Fla.

Congratulations David!

SAC Member Receives Distinguished Service Award from the Canadian Geriatric Society

Each year the Canadian Geriatric Society (CGS) presents an award at its Annual Meeting to recognize an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the health care of older adults in Canada. Geriatrician Alexandra Papaioannou received the 2017 Ronald Cape Distinguished Service Award from the Canadian Geriatric Society. The McMaster University professor of medicine has developed clinical practice guidelines on osteoporosis and preventing fractures in long term care, and she founded the Geriatric Education and Research in Aging Sciences (GERAS) Centre at Hamilton’s Health Sciences Centre and McMaster University . Dr. Papaioannou’s contributions have made a positive and lasting effect on geriatric care in Canada.

Congratulations Alex!

SAC Pharmacist Named 2016 Canadian Pharmacist of the Year

dr-nese-yukselEdmonton pharmacist and researcher Dr. Nesé Yuksel has been named the 2016 Canadian Pharmacist of the Year.

Dr. Yuksel is currently the Division Chair of Pharmacy Practice and a Professor at the University of Alberta’s Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, and practices on an interdisciplinary team at the Menopause Clinic at Lois Hole Hospital for Women (LHHW) in Edmonton. She is also a proud University of Alberta alumna (BScPharm ’88).

Click here to read more