Scientific Advisory Council


Our Scientific Advisory Council Members

William Leslie, MD, FRCPC, MScWilliam Leslie, MD, FRCPC, MSc

Professor of Medicine and Radiology
University of Manitoba

Member of the SAC since 1997

Areas of Interest/Expertise: Osteoporosis, Fracture Risk Assessment, Bone Density Measurement, Nuclear Medicine.

SAC Activities:

  1. Past Chair, SAC Executive Committee
  2. SAC Executive, 1999-2012
  3. SAC Guidelines Committee, 2004-2012
  4. Co-lead for the “2010 Clinical Practice Guidelines for the Diagnosis and Management of Osteoporosis in Canada”


Dr. Leslie is Professor of Medicine and Radiology at the University of Manitoba. He obtained his specialty training from the University of Manitoba and McGill University, qualifying in Internal Medicine in 1989 and in Nuclear Medicine in 1990. He is clinically active in nuclear medicine and thyroid cancer, and has over 250 peer-reviewed publications.  His research interests are in fracture risk assessment, osteoporosis testing and other nuclear diagnostic techniques including PET scanning.  He is Past Chair of the Scientific Advisory Council, co-led the “2010 Clinical Practice Guidelines for the Diagnosis and Management of Osteoporosis in Canada”, on the Board of the International Society for Clinical Densitometry, Director of the Manitoba Bone Density Program, and Co-Director of the Winnipeg PET Imaging Centre.

Professional Awards and/or Accomplishments:

  1. Lindy Fraser Memorial Award from Osteoporosis Canada for contributions to osteoporosis education and research, 2008.
  2. Bruce Squires Award for the research paper published in the Canadian Medical Association Journal during the previous year that is most relevant to the practice of medicine and most likely to impact it in a positive way: “Use of Proton Pump Inhibitors and Risk of Osteoporosis-Related Fractures”, 2008.
  3. International Society of Clinical Densitomery (ISCD) Annual Meeting “Best Abstract by a Clinician Award” for 2007, 2009 and 2013.
  4. American Society for Bone and Mineral Research Most Outstanding Clinical Abstract Award for “Heart failure is a clinically and densitometrically independent and novel risk factor for major osteoporotic fractures: Population-based cohort study of 45,509 subjects”, 2011.

Link to Research Publications: